Skip to content

Archery Rounds

There are a multitude of rounds that you can shoot and this can often be very confusing, especially when you are a new archer. Metric, imperial, world archery, indoor, outdoor……! Let’s try to make this a bit clearer.
First off – don’t worry, things will become clearer as you go through your archery journey.

Imperial Rounds

These rounds measure the distance to the target in yards. When shooting outdoors the scoring uses the coloured rings on the target; thus 5 colours equals 5 zone scoring – white 1, black 3, blue 5, red 7 and gold 9.
Just to make things awkward the indoor imperial scoring uses a 10 zone scoring system. Each colour is divided with a thin black line, thus giving 10 scoring rings.
Some indoor rounds use different targets altogether. For example, the Worcester round uses a black and white target with 5 scoring rings. The tables below will clearly indicate all you need to know about each round.

Metric Rounds

As you may have already guessed, the distance to the target is measured in metres. Most of the targets are 10 zone scoring, from 1-10.


Target Face

Archery rounds are divided up according to which organisation developed them. So we have the following:

Archery GB Imperial Outdoor Records
Round10080605040302010Max. Score
Hereford/Bristol I6421296
Bristol II6421296
Bristol III6421296
Bristol IV6421296
Bristol V6421296
St George333972
Short Windsor333972
Junior Windsor333972
Short Junior Windsor333972
New Western44864
Long Western44864
Short Western44864
Junior Western 44864
Short Junior Western 44864
American2 1/22 1/22 1/2810
St. Nicholas43756
New National42648
Long National42648
Short National42648
Junior National42648
Short Junior National 42648
New Warwick22432
Long Warwick22432
Short Warwick 22432
Junior Warwick 22432
Short Junior Warwick 22432

Archery GB Metric Outdoor Rounds
 122cm Face122122122122122122808080808080Max. Score
Metric I33331440
Metric II33331440
Metric III33331440
Metric IV33331440
Metric V3315101440
Long Metric (Gentlemen)33720
Long Metric (Ladies)33720
Long Metric I33720
Long Metric II33720
Long Metric III33720
Long Metric IV33720
Long Metric V33720
Short Metric 33720
Short Metric I33720
Short Metric II33720
Short Metric III33720
Short Metric IV33720
Short Metric V33720

WA (World Archery) Metric Outdoor Rounds
 122cm face122122122122122122 80cm face8080Max. Score
WA 1440 Gents33331440
WA 1440 Ladies33331440
WA 1440 Cadet Ladies33331440
WA 9002 1/22 1/22 1/2900
WA 70m6720
WA 60m6720
WA 50m6720
WA Standard Round33720
Olympic Round Sets
Olympic Round CadetSets
Compound Match1 1/4150

Archry GB Imperial and WA Indoor Rounds
Distance18m25m30m20y20y25y20y18mAdditional Rules
Face Size40cm60cm80cm60cm40cm60cm6 inch special40cm special
Archery GB Rounds
Bray I2 1/2Full size or triple face
Bray II2 1/2Full size or triple face
Stafford6Full size face only
Portsmouth5Full size or triple face
Worcester5Black and white, 5 zone scoring
Vegas5Special triple face
WA Rounds
WA 18m5Full size or triple face
WA 25m5Full size or triple face
WA Combined55Full size or triple face
Recurve MatchSetsTriple faces only